top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMadre Desmadrosa

permission to my ancestors to hold this space

Updated: Dec 16, 2022

With all the love that lives within me, as the youngest daughter of Maria de Jesus Figueroa Manzo, Granddaughter of Rosaura Figueroa Aguilera, I ask for permission to hold this space. To my ancestors that are no longer here and to my elders that still walk this land. Permission to allow my stories to flourish and walk alongside us, side by side as we occupy our space on mother earth. I give thanks and acknowledge the stolen Duwamish and Coast Salish lands that most of these stories were written and take place on. I acknowledge the peoples and the ways their culture and livelihoods were stolen and are yet to be repaid. LAND BACK. I want to acknowledge the women that came before me and protected me with shields of love in so many ways. These stories are not meant to create pity, on the contrary. They are written to provide vulnerability and a safe space for reflection. I write to let other women, two spirited and non-binary people know that although our experiences can be unfair, we are not alone. Our existence is revolutionary. We are so filled with love and blessings. I hope this writing helps you find warmth and the love that an elders hug provides. Unconditional, and always here for you. Welcome, to Mundo de la Madre x Madre Desmadrosa ✨





65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sad Gurl Hourz: El Libro

Released on March 2, 2023, Sad Gurl Hourz: El Libro is my first book to be published and distributed by Mundo de la Madre. To celebrate the amazing success and reflections my first book brought me, I

Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page